Album Review: A+

Wow, this album is STRAIGHT FIRE!!! Whether you are an Akon fan or not, you are sure to love Akon's new album Freedom.

I'm not sure if any of you caught our original track listing of this album, but we were 100% wrong with the tracklist, so yeah, don't believe everything that you read, especially if it's not confirmed by a legitimate source. Another early rumor about the album was that it was supposed to be named Acquitted...nah it's freedom. And now on to the review.

For those of you who are not up to date on Akon's bio, he was born Aliaune Thiam, in Senegal, 35 years ago in 1973, to Mor Thiam, a famed Jazz Musician. When he was 7 years old, he moved to New Jersey, and began to develop his name (his first recording was at age 15) and send out tapes. He was eventually picked up by Universal Records, and wow was that a good pickup. Akon is a phenomenal artist with a ton of writing and singing talent, and just has a great image. He looks like someone that you want to know, and sounds like someone you just need to hear. His songs are incredible.

Akon's songs are always filled with tons of meaning, always contain some sexual elements, and of course feature sick artists , this time including Colby O'Donis, Kardinal Offishall, Lil' Wayne, Young Jeezy, T-Pain, Ray Lavender, and Wyclef Jean. Akon came out strong with the first single, and first song on the album, "Right Now (Na Na Na)", and ends with a solid, upbeat, liberating track called "Freedom".

Akon voiced that his album Freedom showcases his new sound. "Everyone knows the Konvict sound already, so we had to switch it up -- a lot," he says. "Now we're bringing the whole Euro-club sound." And yeah, you can definitely feel it, and I love it. See Akon starts singing more in these trax, and it actually works for him because he has a really awesome and cool voice, versus Yeezy, who just has a really terrible voice without the auto-tune. And don't get me wrong I love Kanye, but this is definitely a better album, no doubt about it. If you haven't taken a look at this album yet, you better jump on it right away, well don't jump to fast b/c it is BURNING HOTTT!!! You may think I'm just playing, but this album is just downright incredible. The sound is fresh, the lyrics are dope, the featured artists are insane, and I just feel happy when I listen to the CD. I feel like each song really has a distinct meaning and purpose. Akon does a great job telling a story, and I feel him.

This album has awesome replay value and features awesome trax including my favorites:
"Right Now (Na Na Na)"
"Beautiful Ft. Colby O'Donis and Kardinall Offishall"
"We Don't Care"
"Against The Grain Ft. Ray Lavender"
"Sunny Day"

Track List:
1. "Right Now (Na Na Na)" (9.2 out of 10)
2. "Beautiful" (feat. Colby O’Donis and Kardinal Offishall) (9.8 out of 10)
3. "Keep You Much Longer" (9.6 out of 10)
4. "Troublemaker (feat. Sweet Rush) (9.4 out of 10)
5. "We Don't Care" (9.6 out of 10)
6. "I'm So Paid" (feat. Lil' Wayne and Young Jeezy)" (8.7 out of 10)
7. "Holla Holla" (feat. T -Pain) (8.6 out of 10)
8. "Against The Grain" (feat. Ray Lavender) (9.4 out of 10)
9. "Be With You" (8.85 out of 10)
10. "Sunny Day" (feat. Wyclef Jean) (9.2 out of 10)
11. "Birthmark" (8.95 out of 10)
12. "Over the Edge" (8.95 out of 10)
13. "Freedom" (9.7 out of 10)
14. "Clap Again" (Bonus) (9 out of 10)



Akon News Update:
Akon was supposed to show up in court yesterday in Fishkill, NY after an incident last year when he called a girl up to the stage that threw a bottle at him and tossed her off the stage. The girl claims she got a concussion and filed a lawsuit against Akon for one count of endangering a minor and one count of second-degree harassment. The court date however was moved to December 17th, but he continues to say that he will be pleading NOT GUILTY. Let's hope for the best for Akon, he really doesn't deserve this. The fan got what she deserved. And yes, once again if Akon has to go to jail we will start a FREE AKON Rally, but hopefully the case will just be settled with a fine, or hopefully nothing at all.

Print this post


SoSickWitItYo said... @ December 2, 2008 at 11:19 PM

Dang ICECrush, solid review... we will have to have you do more reviews in the near future!

Post a Comment